Death · diet · Life · nutrition · Real Life · Reality · Work

Day 4 – Life is precious

So yesterday was a somewhat sombre affair around work, not only is my counter part leaving (not sad for me but people here will miss her) but Westminster Bridge was closed down for 3 1/2 hours commemorating the atrocious events that occurred just 1 week ago almost exactly as I begun writing this. A chain of the police and the public formed down both sides of the bridge as 500 faith leaders paraded between them. The flowers here have grown steadily each day and I hope you can appreciate the volume from my picture.

With this in mind I want to remind you how precious life is, we never know when our time is going to be up, 4 people and 1 terrorist lost their lives last week, perhaps one of them didn’t care but the others were just going about their daily lives. PC Keith Palmer, Aysha Frade, Kurt Cochran and Leslie Rhodes should still be still be living their lives and their families should not be grieving, but they are due to the senseless acts of one man who thankfully was killed by armed police and didn’t live to cause anymore destruction.

Let that sink in for a while……

I’ve recently thought seriously about the damage my own actions have caused me and how I may have put my own health and life at risk by indulging in that cupcake or getting that chicken burger (now don’t start thinking ohhhh chicken burger…it’s not worth it), all these diseases are caused in some way by consuming excessive fat…

Atherosclerosis, Increased Cancer Risk, Obesity, Brain Injury (bet you didn’t see that one coming), Heart Disease, Diabetes, Cardiovascular Disease, Increased Risk of Stroke, Increased Risk of Heart Attack (Have I scared you yet? Because I’m scared) and lets increase the risk of all of these again by consuming too much sugar (holding my hands up I’m a sugar fiend…at least I was), too much salt (OK OK I’m holding my hand up again…but no more) being overweight (obviously I’m this, that’s why I’m writing this in the first place) and finally the only one that doesn’t make me need to raise my hand is smoking, thankfully it’s not a trait of mine.

So when you grab your next coffee, don’t add that sugar, when eating on the go, don’t hit up fast food places (again I’m a terror for this and drive through makes it even easier to be bad), When eating in a restaurant, don’t go for the large plate, when you are¬†thirsty, water is the only way to go and yes I know it’s boring but have you seen just how much sugar is contained in almost every other drink out there??? when your colleague brings in cake for their birthday, take a small piece and don’t go back for seconds, you might not all want to shift as much as me and be as strict as I’m being but I know every single person reading this wants to be healthy and live a long life so heed my advice.

Now that I’ve depressed you all lets change pace just a little…

I want you all to have a great day a ahead and why not make 1 small change that just might change your life.

 

Jojo

Leave a Reply

